

BOARD OF VOTER REGISTRATION and ELECTIONS OF BEAUFORT COUNTY



15 John Galt Road ● Post Office Drawer 1228 ● Beaufort, South Carolina 29901-1228

Tyrone S. Clifford *Chairman*

William Severns
Vice Chairman

Marie S. Smalls *Director*

Board Members:

William Bronson Beverly Dore Dean Hewitt [VACANT] Bruce Massey James Rowe [VACANT]

Meeting Agenda

January 4, 2017 2:00 PM

Meeting Type: Monthly Board Meeting

Location: Board of Voter Registration and Elections of Beaufort County Office

15 John Galt Road, Beaufort, SC 29906

I. Call to Order Followed by Pledge of Allegiance

II. Public Comments (Please limit comments to 5 minutes)

III. Board Meeting Minutes

a. September 28, 2016 -- Board Meeting Minutes

b. November 3, 2016 -- Board Meeting Minutes

c. November 11, 2016 - Canvass Hearing Minutes

IV. Unfinished Business

V. Committee Reports

a. Selection of New Officers

b. Facilities Committee

i. Facilities/Renovation Update

c. Rules Committee

i. Operation Manual Update

VI. New Business

a. 2016 Election Debriefing

b. Outgoing/Retiring Poll Workers

c. SCARE Conference, January 23, 2017 – January 28, 2017

d. 2017 Board Meeting Schedule

VII. Closing Comments

VIII. Announcements

a. Next Board Meeting

i. February 22, 2017 at 2:00 pm
 Executive Conference Room, (Government Complex)
 100 Ribaut Road
 Beaufort, SC 29902

IX. Adjourn



BOARD OF VOTER REGISTRATION and ELECTIONS OF BEAUFORT COUNTY



Tyrone S. Clifford *Chairman*

William Severns
Vice Chairman

Marie S. Smalls *Director*

Board Members:William Bronson

William Bronson Beverly Dore Dean Hewitt Bruce Massey James Rowe 15 John Galt Road • Post Office Drawer 1228 • Beaufort, South Carolina 29901-

Minutes from the January 4, 2017 Board Meeting Board of Voter Registration and Elections of Beaufort County 15 John Galt Rd, Beaufort, SC

The electronic and print media were dully notified in accordance with the State Freedom of Information Act.

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT

Tyrone Clifford, Chairman William Severns, Vice-Chairman William Bronson Beverly Dore Dean Hewitt James Rowe Bruce Massey

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT

None

STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT

Brandon Harris, Election Information Systems Specialist Vernon Kemp, Election Information Systems Specialist Wendell Roberson, Sr., Deputy Director Marie S. Smalls, Director Kristina Weitz, Secretary

PUBLIC PRESENT

Josh Gruber, Deputy Beaufort County Administrator Gary Kubic, Beaufort County Administrator Penny Nye Mark Roseneau, Beaufort County Facility Management Henry Waddington, Board Member awaiting appointment

CALL TO ORDER

Mr. Clifford called the Board Meeting to order at 2:00 pm and led the Pledge of Allegiance.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

Mr. Clifford welcomed the members of the public present and after introductions were made, asked if there were any public comments.

Mr. Gary Kubic, the Beaufort County Administrator, thanked the Board and staff for all their hard work and for running a smooth presidential election.

Hearing no additional public comments, Mr. Clifford thanked Mr. Kubic for attending the meeting and noted since the Facility Management and Beaufort County officials were present, the Facility Committee would present their report. Mr. Clifford turned the meeting over to Mr. Severns, the chair of the Facility Committee.

Facility Committee Report

Mr. Severns passed out copies of the plans to renovate the Beaufort Voter Registration office. The plans were the latest and the Facility Committee was still waiting for approval from the neighboring business to add a driveway. Mr. Severns turned the meeting over to Mr. Mark Roseneau from the Facility Management department.

Mr. Roseneau announced there were two options for the Board to consider. The plans were reviewed by Mrs. Smalls, the Facility Management department, the Facility Committee and various Beaufort County officials prior to the Board meeting.

REVIEW OF MINUTES

Mr. Clifford asked if there were any additions or changes to the Board minutes from June 16, 2016, June 17, 2016 and June 30, 2016.

Mr. Clifford noted all mention of his name for the June 16 and 17th Minutes should be changed to Mr. Severns. Mr. Clifford was not present at either meeting and Mr. Severns presided over the meetings.

Mr. Hewitt motioned to accept the minutes from June 16, 2016. It was seconded by Mr. Bronson. The motion was voted upon and passed unanimously.

Mr. Severns motioned to accept the minutes from June 17, 2016. It was seconded by Mr. Hewitt. The motion was voted upon and passed unanimously.

Mrs. Dore motioned to accept the minutes from June 30, 2016. It was seconded by Mr. Severns. The motion was voted upon and passed unanimously.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

Mr. Clifford inquired if there was any Unfinished Business, hearing none; he moved on to Committee Reports.

Committee Reports

Mr. Clifford announced Mr. Rowe was supposed to present an update to the Operation Manual, however because of his absence; the update would be presented at another time.

NEW BUSINESS

Board Vacancy

Mr. Clifford updated the Board on the vacancy. Potential candidates for the vacancy on the Board were told to contact the Legislative Delegation for an application and information. A couple of people were requesting information and a packet was being sent.

Mr. Bronson and Mr. Massey stated they would seek reappointment on the Board after their term expires. Mr. Hewitt and Mr. Jones would be leaving at the end of this year when their term expires.

Mr. Clifford noted another copy of the Board vacancies needed to be drafted for Mr. Hewitt and Mr. Jones' positions and sent to the Legislative Delegation and public.

DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Mrs. Smalls and the Board reviewed the setup for the absentee precinct at the Burton Hill office and the Board asked if there would be an awning over the sidewalk prior to the election.

The Board discussed the Electronic Voting Registration List (EVRLs) and the networking procedure presented by Brandon Harris and Vernon Kemp.

ADJOURNMENT

The next scheduled meeting is the Canvass Hearing scheduled for 10 am on Friday, November 11, 2016 at the Board of Voter Registration and Elections of Beaufort County office, located at 15 John Galt Road, Beaufort, SC 29906.

The Board Meeting was adjourned at 3:51 pm.